Gagdi, Opeyemi, bag honorary doctorate from Ekiti varsity

Chairman of the House of Representatives Committee on Navy, Hon. Yusuf Adamu Gagdi, and Senate Majority Leader, Senator Opeyemi Bamidele, have been conferred with an honorary doctorate by the Federal University of Oye-Ekiti in Ekiti State.

Hon. Gagdi, who represents Pankshin/Kanke/Kanam Federal Constituency of Plateau State in the House of Representatives, was among three distinguished Nigerians conferred with the Honoris Causa at the 8th Convocation Ceremony of the Institution, according to a statement by the Gagdi Strategic Media Team on Sunday.

Conferring the award, the Chancellor of the University, His Royal Majesty, the Attah Igala, Dr Mathew Alhaji Opaluwa, said the award followed meticulous scrutiny of his activities, both in his constitutional mandate of lawmaking and the impacts he has created in the lives of their people through project delivery and empowerment.

The Chancellor maintained that the choice of the awardees was infallibly arrived at in order to serve as a morale booster in the discharge of their duties and to spur others holding positions of responsibility to discharge the same with the utmost diligence and dedication.

While addressing the press, Gagdi could not hide his joy for the recognition accorded him far away from home.

He dedicated the award to the people of Pankshin/Kanke/Kanam Federal Constituency for entrusting him with the mandate upon which he exercised the commendable leadership qualities that attracted recognition for his role in nation-building.

He promised to continue to provide succour to his constituents and speak without fear or favour in the pursuit of an egalitarian society for all Nigerians.

Hon. Gagdi appreciated his family for being the backbone of the robust leadership that characterised his representation of the people of Pankshin/Kanke/Kanam Federal Constituency.

The convocation was a colourful ceremony that attracted dignitaries from within and outside the country, among which are: the Deputy President of the Senate, Senator Barau Jibrin; Governor Abiodun Abayomi Oyebanji of Ekiti State; Members of the National Assembly; and the Minister for State Environment, Dr. Kunle Salako Iziaq, among others.


Tribune Online