NCS to raise N50m innovation fund at NITMA 2021 award

The Nigeria Computer Society (NCS), a body of computer professionals in the country, plans to unveil a N50 million innovation development fund to provide support for startups in the profession.
The fundraising, which would be part of the society’s yearly award ceremony, National Information Technology Merit Awards (NITMA), holding in Lagos tomorrow, November 18, would be chaired by the Chairman of Zinox Computers Limited, Leo-Stan Ekeh, who is expected to grace the occasion with his friends from corporate Nigeria.
The Governor of Lagos State, Babatunde Sanwo-Olu would chair the 2021 National Information Technology Merit Awards (NITMA) that includes the induction of 51 fellows into the NCS as well as the presentation of several awards in five categories.
The President of the NCS, Prof Adesina Sodiya, stated that the innovation fund would be awarded as grants to successful innovators whose creation has reached final stage application, noting that Nigerian has enough application developers that can develop solutions that can solve her problems.
Sodiya disclosed that the 2021 awards target the key areas and issues affecting growth in the sector and society are addressed adding that for all awards, key criteria include IT specialisations, NCS standards and global best practices.
Highlights of activities according to him include, Digital Governor of The Year Award, IT Personality of The Year Award, IT Gold Merit of The Year Award, IT Company of The Year Award, Youth Innovator of The Year Award and Professional and Honorary Fellowship Conferment.

The NCS President stated that the Director General G/CEO National Information Technology Development Agency, Kashifu Abadullahi and the Director- General, Nigerian Maritime Administration and Safety Agency are going to receive the IT Gold Merit award for their innovative ideas towards moving IT to the next level.
He added that four companies, Zinox Technologies, Newwaves Ecosytems and Data Sciences Nigeria would compete for the IT Company of the year award.