PSC promotes five DIGs, 15 CPs, 36DCPs, 61 ACPs

The Police Service Commission has approved the appointment of AIG Yahaya Sahabo Abubakar as Deputy Inspector General of Police.

Ikechukwu Ani, Head of Press and Public Relations, said in a statement on Friday that DIG Yahaya Sahabo was, until his appointment, the AIG in charge of Zone 14 Katsina.

“He will represent the North East Geopolitical Zone in the Police Management Team, replacing DIG Habu Sani, who recently retired as DIG Force Intelligence Bureau and represented the Zone.

“The Commission also approved the promotion of 122 other senior police officers: ten Commissioners of Police to the rank of Assistant Inspectors General, fifteen Deputy Commissioners of Police to substantive Commissioners, and thirty-six Assistant Commissioners of Police to Deputy Commissioners. Sixty-one Chief Superintendents of Police were also elevated to the rank of Assistant Commissioners of Police,” the statement said.

According to the statement, the decisions were taken at the extraordinary management meeting of the commission held on Thursday, June 6, 2024, and presided over by the chairman of the commission, Solomon Arase, retired Inspector General of Police.

“The 15 Deputy Commissioners of Police, 10 Commissioners, and AIG Abubakar appeared before the Commission in session for the compulsory interactive promotion interview, which is one of the requirements for their promotion to the next rank.

“At the interactive sessions, the commission chairman told the officers that in the emerging dynamic and ubiquity of crime and criminality within the revolution in information and communication technology, ‘charting out pathways for effective policing and internal security management would have to necessarily orient from informed crafting and employment of an applicable mix of strategies, standard operating procedures, and tactics by the police, other law enforcement, and regulatory agencies of the state, mainstreaming a knowledge-driven police force staffed by a mentally mobile workforce refined for optimum service delivery,’” it said.

Arase charged them to be genuinely committed to their sacred responsibility of securing the Nigerian nation by effectively protecting lives and property, preventing and containing crimes and criminality across the nation.

He pledged the commission’s readiness to ensure that promotions of officers and men are regular and predictable.

The Commissioners of Police promoted to the new rank of AIGs are; Ahmed Ammani, former CP Enugu and currently in the ICT Department, Force Headquarters; Mohammed Dankwara Adamu, Deputy Commandant Police Academy, Wudil Kano; Gumel Mohammed Usaini, CP Kano State Command; Hamzat Adebola Ayinde, CP Oyo State Command; Okuoma Idegwu Basil, CP Elections, Force Headquarters Abuja; Achinyan Zachary’s Fera, CP FCID Enugu; Baba Zango Ibrahim, CP DFA, FCID, Abuja; Mohammed Isyaku, CP Admin, FCID Annex Lagos, and CP Margaret Agebe Ochalla, CP Police Special Fraud Unit Annex Lagos.

DCP Bassey Samuel Ewah, DC Admin, Department of Operations, Force Headquarters; Osagie John Agans-Irabor, SCID, Benue State Command; DCP Edem Ita Selong, Admin, and Finance, Zone 9 Umuahia, and DCP Monday Agbonika, Interpol Annex Lagos, were promoted to the substantive rank of Commissioners of Police.

Other Deputy Commissioners promoted to CPs were Michael Okoh, Department of Operations, Zone 9 Umuahia; Ayodele Oluyemi Sonubi, State CID, Oyo State Command; Iyama Daniel Edobor, Operations Department, Bayelsa State Command; Isa Danladi Nda, SWAT, FCID Abuja; Akaniyene Ifebem Ezima Zonal CID, Zone 17 Akure, and Livingston Ikioye Orutugu, Commandant PMF Training School Ende Hills Jos.

Others were DCP Bello Rashid Afegbua, Admin, Department of Training, Force Headquarters, Abuja; Hycenth Azuka Edozie, Force Operations FCID, FHQ Abuja; Haruna Alaba Yahaya, Interpol, FCID Abuja; Peter Ozigi Umoru, Zonal CID, Zone 8, Lokoja; Ayotunde Godwin Omodeinde, Operations Department, Cross Rivers State Command.

The 36 Assistant Commissioners of Police promoted to the next rank of Deputy Commissioners include Obo Ukam Obo, Musibau Adeola Adedoyin, Lawal Bamidele Adeshina, and Anthony Okon Placid. Others are Onyeamu Akaeme Onyeamu, AC, Ops, Enugu State Command; Suleiman K. Bayonle, Commander PMF 20, Lagos; Asuquo Effiong, Special Investigation Unit FHQ, Abuja; Mustapha A. Rufai, Area Commander Auchi; Victor Akongtendor Bepeh, DFA, BPF, Force Headquarters Abuja; Chinedu Ugwu, Area Commander, Oji River Enugu Command; Kingsley Ifeanyi Woke SCID Ebonyi State Command; Issah Onize Lawal, Zonal CID Zone 2 Lagos, and Ifeanyi Aham Ohuruzo, Commander PMF 21 Abuja.

The list of the promoted officers has been conveyed to the Inspector General of Police for implementation and further necessary action.


Keep up with the hottest Nigerian news. breaking news and current affairs coverage.